The Teacher

The teacher

Immediately after his exam at the Saarland Academy of Music, Florian Döling started his pedagogical career in 1989 at the Music School Sulzbach / Saar. From the beginning he gave double bass lessons - both classical and jazz - electric bass and band lessons. After a short time, he was commissioned by the school management with the establishment of a popular music department. In 1990, with the support of his jazz band "Rebop", he founded the extremely successful Sulzbach Jazz Workshop, which celebrated its 25th anniversary in 2015.

In addition to his work at the jazz and rock school "Music Lab" in Emmendingen from November 1991 to October 1997, he took over in November 1991 as double bass, electric bass and band teacher a teaching engagement at the Music School Offenburg-Ortenau. He built a large double-bass and e-bass class, some of which students through the training at German conservatories - both in the field of classical music as well as in the study jazz - made the step into a successful musical life. From October 1993 he was appointed head of department of the "Musikfabrik" at this school, with the task of establishing and expanding the department of Popular Music. With many new offers - such as the establishment of taster bands, the teaching model Bandlab, the foundation and direction of the monthly student concert series "Kick im KIK", big events like the children's musical "Miausical" or the big music factory festival He has led the faculty for 13 years and handed over to his successor in the fall of 2006 a booming and highly active department with over 20 bands.

Parallel to his teaching at the music school Offenburg-Ortenau, he taught since January 1994 students in the study jazz at the Conservatoire Nationale in Strasbourg. An activity which he resigned in November 1998 due to his increasing composition and his extensive departmental work.

In addition to his work at the music school Offenburg-Ortenau, he began his teaching as a double bass, e-bass and ensemble teacher at the Swiss Music School Binningen-Bottmingen (Baselland). Since January 2014, he also teaches these subjects at the music school Münchenstein (Baselland). Since 2014 he also teaches songwriting at the music school Binningen-Bottmingen.

Florian Döling also gives advanced training for music teachers and is invited to workshops, mainly in the field of jazz, as a lecturer. He also supervises pedagogical internships for students of the Jazzcampus Basel and the Hochschule für Musik Basel.

His educational-artistic goals are reflected in the mission statement of the >> Musikschule Binningen-Bottmingen. Visiting the homepage of the >> Musikschule Offenburg-Ortenau and the Musikschule Münchenstein also gives a good overview of the diverse activities of these music schools.

Presse_florian_do-ling_2

Der Lehrer

Direkt im Anschluss an sein Examen an der Musikhochschule des Saarlandes startete Florian Döling 1989 seine pädagogische Laufbahn an der Musikschule Sulzbach/Saar. Von Anfang an gab er Kontrabassunterricht – sowohl klassisch als auch Jazz – E-Bass und Bandunterricht. Bereits nach kurzer Zeit wurde er von der Schulleitung mit dem Aufbau einer Popularmusik-Abteilung beauftragt. 1990 gründete er mit Unterstützung seiner damaligen Jazzband "Rebop" den überaus erfolgreichen Sulzbacher Jazzworkshop, der 2015 sein 25-jähriges Bestehen feierte.

Neben seiner Tätigkeit an der freien Jazz- und Rockschule "Music-Lab" in Emmendingen von November 1991 bis Oktober1997 übernahm er ab November 1991 als Kontrabass-, E-Bass und Bandlehrer eine Lehrverpflichtung an der Musikschule Offenburg-Ortenau. Er baute eine große Kontrabass- und E-Bassklasse auf, von denen einige Schüler über die Ausbildung an deutschen Musikhochschulen – sowohl im Bereich Klassik wie auch im Studiengang Jazz – den Schritt in ein erfolgreiches Musikerleben schafften. Ab Oktober1993 wurde er an dieser Schule zum Fachbereichsleiter der "Musikfabrik" ernannt, mit der Aufgabe, den Fachbereich Popularmusik auf- und auszubauen. Mit vielen neuen Angeboten –  wie bspw. der Etablierung von Schnupperbands, dem Unterrichtsmodell Bandlab, der Gründung und Leitung der monatlich stattfindenden Schüler-Konzertreihe "Kick im KIK", großen Events wie dem Kindermusical "Miausical" oder dem großen Musikfabrik-Festival zum 10-jährigem Bestehen des Fachbereichs – führte er den Fachbereich 13 Jahre lang und übergab seinem Nachfolger im Herbst 2006 einen boomenden und höchst lebendigen Fachbereich mit über 20 Bands.

Parallel zu seiner Unterrichtstätigkeit an der Musikschule Offenburg-Ortenau unterrichtete er ab Januar 1994 Studenten im Studiengang Jazz am Conservatoire Nationale in Straßburg. Eine Tätigkeit, die er aufgrund seiner zunehmenden Kompositionstätigkeit und seiner umfangreichen Fachbereichsleitertätigkeit im November 1998 wieder abgab.

Neben seiner Tätigkeit an der Musikschule Offenburg-Ortenau nahm er ab Januar 2005 seine Unterrichtstätigkeit als Kontrabass-, E-Bass und Ensemblelehrer an der Schweizer Musikschule Binningen-Bottmingen (Baselland) auf. Seit Januar 2014 unterrichtet er darüber hinaus diese Fächer auch an der Musikschule Münchenstein (Baselland). Seit 2014 unterrichtet er auch Songwriting an der Musikschule Binningen-Bottmingen.

Florian Döling gibt darüber hinaus Fortbildungen für Musiklehrer und wird immer wieder zu Workshops, vornehmlich im Bereich Jazz, als Dozent eingeladen. Ausserdem betreut er auch pädagogische Praktika von Studenten/innen des Jazzcampus Basel und der Hochschule für Musik Basel.

Seine pädagogisch-künstlerischen Ziele finden sich in dem Leitbild der >> Musikschule Binningen-Bottmingen wieder. Auch der Besuch der Homepage der >> Musikschule Offenburg-Ortenau und der Musikschule Münchenstein gibt einen guten Überblick über die vielfältigen Aktivitäten dieser Musikschulen wieder.