The Composer

The composer

Florian Döling made his first serious attempts at composition at the end of the 80s, during his classical double bass studies at the Musikhochschule des Saarlandes. Inspired by the visit of several jazz workshops, where also composition and arrangement lessons were on the agenda, the list of his (jazz) songs in the following years grew longer.

In addition to more classical, instrumental jazz songs, he also composed jazz suites, such as the four-movement "Alaska Suite", recorded by his piano quartet Quiet Now on the CD "Inside The Waltz" and the concert piece "Body", written for the 12th Heading contemporary Freiburg improvisation ensemble Up-Art IG, recorded on the CD "Juxtapositions".

With the founding of his sextet, later reduced to a quartet playing only the leader's compositions, he faced for the first time the great challenge of writing not only the music but also the English lyrics. The CDs "Morning Sun" and "Beam Me Up" document this creative phase to the best.

In 1999 he wrote his first musical "Miausical", a children's musical for vocal soloists, rock band, children's choir and string orchestra. The premiere dates to the year 1999. It was followed by two more, revised productions in the Stuttgart area. For the first time Florian Döling ventured with the "Miausical" to a libretto, which, however, was still strongly based on the book template "Geschichten von der Maus für die Katz" of the Hamburg author Ursel Scheffler. The "Miausical" also marks his entry into the German lyrics.

Confirmed by the great success, he took over another composition commission from the parish of Bennigsen. The result was the musical "Mysterious Church Walls" for vocal soloists, mixed church choir, children's choir and band, again with German lyrics and a libretto based on historical traditions. The premiere took place in 2007.

Without any substantive specification he wrote the musical "Magic Shoes" with the cast of several vocal soloists, a soloist backing choir, big band with percussion group, orchestra and several dance ensembles. For "Magic Shoes" he wrote not only the music and the predominantly German lyrics, but also the arrangements and the orchestration, as well as the libretto. The premiere took place in 2009.

For the existing bands, ensembles and dance classes of the music school Binningen-Bottmingen (BiBo) and the neighboring music school Leimental he received from the music school BiBo 2010 again the task to compose a new musical. The result was "Keep Going" (german program booklet). In addition to the music, the predominantly German lyrics and the arrangements and the orchestration Florian Döling wrote again the libretto. "Keep Going" premiered in 2012 in Binningen.

Presse_florian_do-ling_2

Der Komponist

Erste ernsthafte Kompositionsversuche unternahm Florian Döling Ende der 80er Jahre, noch während seiner klassischen Kontrabassausbildung an der Musikhochschule des Saarlandes. Angeregt durch den Besuch etlicher Jazzworkshops, bei denen auch Kompositions- und Arrangementunterricht auf der Agenda standen, wurde die Liste seiner (Jazz-) Songs in den folgenden Jahren immer länger.

Neben eher klassisch aufgebauten, instrumentalen Jazzsongs komponierte er auch Jazz-Suiten, wie beispielsweise die viersätzige "Alaska-Suite", aufgenommen von seinem Pianotrio Quiet Now auf der CD "Inside The Waltz" und das Konzertstück "Body", geschrieben für das 12-köpfige zeitgenössische Freiburger Improvisationsensemble Up-Art IG, aufgenommen auf der CD "Juxtapositions".

Mit der Gründung seines Sextetts, später dann reduziert als Quartett, das ausschließlich Kompositionen des Leaders spielt, stand er erstmals vor der großen Herausforderung, neben der Musik auch die englischen Songtexte zu schreiben. Die CDs "Morning Sun" und "Beam Me Up" dokumentieren diese Schaffensphase auf das Trefflichste.

1999 schrieb er dann sein erstes Musical "Miausical", ein Kindermusical für Gesangssolisten, Rockband, Kinderchor und Streichorchester. Die Uraufführung datiert auf das Jahr 1999. Es folgten noch zwei weitere, überarbeitete Inszenierungen im Stuttgarter Raum. Erstmals wagte sich Florian Döling mit dem "Miausical" an ein Libretto heran, welches allerdings noch stark an die Buchvorlage "Geschichten von der Maus für die Katz" der Hamburger Autorin Ursel Scheffler angelehnt war. Das "Miausical" markiert außerdem seinen Einstieg in die deutschen Songtexte.

Bestätigt durch den großen Erfolg übernahm er einen weiteren Kompositionsauftrag der Kirchengemeinde Bennigsen. Es entstand das Musical "Geheimnisvolle Kirchenmauern" für Gesangssolisten, gemischten Kirchenchor, Kinderchor und Band, ebenfalls wieder mit deutschen Songtexten und einem Libretto nach historischen Überlieferungen. Die Uraufführung fand 2007 statt.

Inhaltlich vollkommen frei war dann der Kompositionsauftrag für das Musical "Magic Shoes" mit der Besetzungsvorgabe mehrerer Gesangssolisten, ein solistischer Backgroundchor, Bigband mit Percussiongruppe, Orchester und mehrere Tanzensembles. Für "Magic Shoes" schrieb er neben der Musik und den überwiegend deutschen Songtexten auch wieder die Arrangements und die Orchestrierung, sowie das Libretto. Die Uraufführung fand 2009 statt. Ausführliche Infos unter www.magicshoes.info

Für die vorhandenen Bands, Ensembles und Tanzklassen der Musikschule Binningen-Bottmingen (BiBo) und der benachbarten Musikschule Leimental erhielt er von der Musikschule BiBo 2010 nochmals den Auftrag, ein neues Musical zu komponieren. Es entstand "Keep Going", das auch wieder inhaltlich vollkommen frei war. Neben der Musik, den überwiegend deutschen Songtexten und den Arrangements und der Orchestrierung schrieb Florian Döling auch hier wieder das Libretto. "Keep Going" wurde 2012 in Binningen uraufgeführt.